Impatient 

I’m impatient. Very impatient. I like that about me.  

 I like to think of it like When Harry Met Sally, “when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.” Isn’t that the truth? What a perfectly lovely excuse for my impatience. The rest of my life needs to start as soon as possible! But first: primer. Sigh.  

 Primer and bondo and caulk and primer and sanding and painting and more painting….

 Prep work is the worst. Four times the effort and none of the wow. I know it’s worth it in the long run, but seriously, we should be on the open road by now!

“Your work is a reflection of yourself.” Not a line from When Harry Met Sally, but from when Adam thought for a minute that I might want to skip step 17 of 43. He sure knows how to get me back on task!  I want to snap back with “we’re not striving for perfection, we’re striving for results” but I know that only applies to iterative processes, and there is no way in hell we are painting this thing again anytime soon.

…So from now on my work is a reflection of myself and I’m impatient, but I’m also in love with this trailer and the rest of our lives we are building together one brushstroke at a time. 

  I finish applying Bondo to all the cracks in the plastic and sanded the following day. We yanked all the carpet, tv storage and couches, pulled every staple and replaced every rivet before scrubbing the 31′ foot monster from top to bottom with TSP. We burned through 22 cans of primer on the edges, cracks and rivets before foam rolling the rest. We used Zinsser Bullseye 1-2-3 Primer because it covers plastic and metal and can be both sprayed from a can or rolled. All that for coat one then came coat two, while Adam meticulously scraped all the old sealant from every seam on the roof, around each window, door and piece of trim. I thought my job was annoying until I saw him tape off both sides of a curved seam, applying caulk/sealant, smoothing it off before removing both tapes so it can dry in perfectly straight lines.img_4099

We honestly bought 5 different types of sealant and he probably spent 10+ hours reading and researching before settling on Sikaflex 221 for the seams. More on the technical details to come soon, but apparently the right sealant is like life or death! 😳😳😳

Our house is a mess but our Airstream is starting to take shape. She is better than brand new. That is what we tell ourselves after two weekends and several week nights of true love’s labor. She is old and new, classic and modern, a reflection of imperfect people and flawless all at the same time.

Finish strong,

Kate + Adam

[Blog mood music: http://youtu.be/40JmEj0_aVM ]

 

P.S. In the bathroom we started with the same Zinsser plastic bonding primer, followed by Rustoleum Marine Topside paint in gloss white. This is after just one coat. Next is wet sanding and painting a second time. We also did a clear silicone on the cracks. 

To remember what she used to look like check these out. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. atkokosplace says:

    I can totally appreciate the work being put into this project. Wow. It’s looking amazing. Are you happy with that primer? I’ve used that brand. I’m going to read more about your blog when I get the chance later. It all looks so exciting. Best wishes to you both. Koko:)

    Like

    1. Kate + Adam says:

      We were very happy with the primer. We did two coats of it but now I think we will only need on coat of the Valspar paint & Primer. The cans were a life saver to get into all the cracks and crevasses without using a brush and the coverage is amazing even on shiny metal, wood and plastic At the very end when we ran out of our last can we went to pant the back of the inside of a dresser with a different primer we had and it was just awful and drippy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. atkokosplace says:

        Good to know a product works! Too bad some is at the expense of well money and time when it doesn’t work out. Glad this once was a good one! Enjoy your day! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

